Bad coil packs

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2002, 06:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Bad coil packs

I have read several other people having problems with coil packs. I have an 02 F-150 Lariat 5.4 with less than 12,000 miles. It has been in the shop no less than 5 times for bad coil packs. It is going back in today after work for the same. Is anyone else having this problem. Is my truck a lemmon or what. After this experience and all the other problems I've had with my 9 month old truck, Im' ready to go Chevy.

Old 06-21-2002, 07:51 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
BrianD:

I am not a Ford mechanic, however I don't believe the coil packs would be responsible for five (six) trips to the Service Garage.

From what I have been told, a bad coil pack will set a Code that the mechanics can see when diagnosing.

I suggest you find another Ford Dealer to service your truck, or hold your current Dealer's feet to the fire to accurately and correctly diagnose and fix your truck.

Good Luck.

Wilk

Old 06-21-2002, 08:00 PM
sounds like the computer is the real culpret

Old 06-22-2002, 12:15 AM
Ford's coil packs due degrade over time - say 30 to 40k miles. While they don't perform as say a good set of Accel coil packs, something else must be going on here. This may well be inconvenient, but perhaps a different dealer is in order.

Clearly at 12k miles something is wrong.

Do you know if the ecm is generating any codes? What is the truck doing or not doing?

Old 06-23-2002, 04:32 PM
Angry

I here you. I have had my truck in the shop approximately 6 times in the last 2 yearrs. It is a 1997 ford f150 with a 5.4. I am ready to drive it into the lake. I would appreciate it if anyone could find out why the coils keep shorting out. Please let me know if you resolve it. Good Luck !!!!

Old 06-23-2002, 05:02 PM
There has been threads on the heater hose leaking on the #3 and #4 coil packs. You didn't say which ones went bad, but it's a thought.

Old 06-24-2002, 03:26 PM