The truth about calibrating Spanish Oak?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2005, 08:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The truth about calibrating Spanish Oak?

Yes, I'm a newbie, but I've used the search function quite a bit here...

I'm getting ready to plunk down the cash for an SCT XCalibrator 2 for my 2005 F150. To me, that's a lot of money.

My question is, does anybody really have this Spanish Oak processor figured out? I'm more of a Mustang guy and it seems like most of the write ups I read about people reflashing the computers in their 2005 Mustangs on dynos with the SCT software conclude with the same results. Something along the lines of:

"well, we did pull out another 20-30 peak hp with the tune... but this processor is very complicated, so there were still a lot of parameters we did not address. We don't know if we left any possible gains on the table or even if these results are repeatable."

This uncertainty makes me hesitate to purchase the Xcal2 right now. It makes me wonder if maybe one year from now, The Xcal2s that ship for the same price as the ones today will contain better tunes since the aftermarket will have had an extra year to figure this processor out.

I wonder if anyone can tell me SPECIFICALLY which parameters are adjusted by the most common tuning facilities. IOW, if you were there while they tuned your computer, what did they adjust?

Things like the ethrottle settings? Transmission upshifts and downshifts? Speed Limiter? Rev Limiter? Throttle cut when the transmission is placed in first and second gears? Temperature tables? Convertor lockup?