Black truck detail

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 04:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Black truck detail

il admit that im a bit of an newb when it comes to detailing but ive read the sticky and all different threads before asking this question.i have a black screw and everytime i wash my truck 1. i have little dirt and very small gunk or whatever you wanna call it build up and 2. within twenty minutes of my wash it is covered with dust pollen and what not... so is claying is what i have to do to remove the dirt and two is the only solution for my dust problem a dust wand il take any information on different solutions i need some help.

Old 04-20-2008, 05:45 PM
Dust wand is not your friend...

There's really nothing you can do about dust and pollen. They are black's worst enemy.

I don't really understand your first question. You have gunk build up after your wash? Are you washing thoroughly with proper methods?

Old 04-20-2008, 05:52 PM
I know how much of a PITA washing our black trucks can be, but IMO nothing looks better than a properly detailed black truck. Paint preparation is the key here. If you want to do a really good detail then the first thing I'd recommend is wash your truck with dawn dishsoap. (If your truck is new or you haven't waxed it alot already then skip this step) This will strip your truck of all the old waxes, but don't do this more than once, maybe twice, a year. Then wash it with a really good car soap, Megs Gold Class is a really good one. Next up clay it, this is where you should really start to notice a difference in the paint. Rub your hand across the surface before and then after claying and you'll be amazed at the difference.