1997 - 2003 F-150

02 F-150 HD Supercharged edition problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 09:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
02 F-150 HD Supercharged edition problems

Good morning all. New forum member here with some questions about my "new to me" F150. I live in Katy Texas, just west of Houston.

I recently purchased, through a dealer, an '02 Harley Davidson edition F-150 with approximately 72k on the clock.

I know nothing about the PO or what they might have done to this truck with the exception of the FlowMaster pipes on it and the K&N intake. I also don't know if it has a stock tune on it or canned, or custom. Be warned, I'm a complete newbie so I know nothing about these vehicles although I've been trying to read up.

Since purchasing this I've noticed several problems:

1. Cruise control inop
2. Auto door locks inop although the locks work fine by pushing the lock button.
3. Overdrive button inop.

On friday my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and stayed on. My son brought over his diagnostic tool and discovered that a PCV had come loose. We fixed that but while we were in the engine compartment I noticed that the air filter assembly had come lose from the throttle body. I fixed that and also noticed that a small vacuum tube just underneath the airfilter assembly had come loose, I don't know if I pulled it loose when I was messing with the air filter assemply or whether it was disconnected prior to that. Anyway I fixed that also. I also cleaned the throttle body with cleaner.

After putting everything back together I started the beast up. It started fine but immediately died, almost like it wasn't getting enough air or maybe fuel. I started a few more times with the same results. I can keep it running by adding a little throttle but if I dont the revs will drop to below 500rpm and the truck will die. I figured maybe the excess throttle cleaner was putting it too rich and I took it out for a short spin.