vg turbo=no turbo lag??

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2006, 04:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
vg turbo=no turbo lag??

I was watching TRUCKS a while back and Gale Banks was on. They were talking about newer diesels and how they get such incredible power out of them. When they were talking about the turbo, he said that turbo lag is a things of the past. Thanks to variable geometry turbos there is virtually no lag. I've never heard anybody else mention these and I'm wondering if anybody here knows more.

Old 07-15-2006, 05:46 PM
I dont have anything to add but I am sure some of these armchair turbo experts will ring in soon.

Old 07-15-2006, 05:52 PM
Suspended
I'm no expert but I know it is a very valid point.

Turbo lag is something commonly referred to by people that are virtually uneducated in the way turbos work, and probably swear by Superchargers.

Tecnically speaking, due to the fact that superchargers create parasitic loss and can not be 100% efficient turbos by default have the potential for higher/better output.

Why do you think people are doing turbo setups on $200,000 Ford GTs?

If properly designed and tuned turbos will outperform a superchargers and not have turbo lag.

Old 07-15-2006, 05:58 PM
I believe the new porsche 911 turbo is the first gasoline engine to use these turbos. Check out the Porsche boards, those who have driven it say it is a monster (but most 911 turbos are) They seem to work well on the Diesels and hope to see the technology move further into the gas engine segments. I have never driven a car/truck with a variable vane/geometry turbo, so I am not sure how they feel compared to a conventional BB Turbo.

Old 07-15-2006, 06:03 PM
Lumadar, thanks for your opinion on Turbo vs Super chargers but that has nothing to do with my question. I understand how both work and the advantages and disadvantages of both. Turbo lag is a fact though. It does exist. I've felt it. I'm asking how a VG turbo is different and how it reduces the lag.