Just felt good to do

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2011, 10:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Just felt good to do

Hey guys,

I have to say I'm not an auto mechanic by any means...in fact, after pointing out the windshield washer reservoir, and the dipstick, I can't say I know my way around an engine very well. Don't get me wrong, I can do basic maintenance like changing windshield wipers or a flat tire, I'm just not the type to replace crankshafts and blown head gaskets. All that being said, I just felt like getting on here and saying it felt pretty good to change my front brake pads this week. I do know enough to recognize the high pitch squeal of worn down brake pads, and it's just nice to be able to diagnose the problem and change it for around $20 instead of heading to a shop and getting robbed blind for the labor. Enough about my rant, anyone else feel good about something they've done? Could be small or big, just something that made you feel good to get done on your own.

Old 08-06-2011, 10:42 PM
Me and my friends put a 6 inch Fabtech lift on my 2006 4x4 f150. That's the biggest project we've attempted on our own. Made me feel very accomplished, and I think it turned out pretty good

Old 08-06-2011, 11:04 PM
I'm like you, i don't know a whole lot about working on engines, but just last week I replaced my driver side mirror assembly. I took the door panel off, unhooked the wires, replaced the mirror, and put everything back together. I felt really accomplished because I called the dealer to get an install quote the day before and they wanted $150 in labor to replace it for me. So I saved a good chunk of change by doing it myself. My next project is replacing the front coil-over assemblies. (That will definitely be a learning experience)

Old 08-06-2011, 11:27 PM
Originally Posted by GA4x4Screw