P0353 & P0131 & A/C Compressor

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2017, 07:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question P0353 & P0131 & A/C Compressor

Hey, there, folks! Sure hoping someone has got some wisdom I can draw from.

First things first: 1999 F150, 4.6L V8, 2WD, Automatic, XLT, 190K miles; bought a year ago, seller said engine was replaced in early 2015 with 4.6L V8 from Crown Vic.
I'm a relative novice, trying to puzzle out a P0353/P0131.

I've been reading a number of threads here regarding this stubborn P0353, and while a couple have been helpful in steering my troubleshooting, I feel like my situation is just a bit different.

The truck has been running great since I first bought it. No issues at all. 2 weeks ago, was driving home at night, and inside of about a 5 minute window on a 30 minute highway drive, suddenly presented two problems: the A/C compressor stopped cooling the air, and the truck was suddenly working much harder to remain at 65 than it usually does. Began to shudder about 70 and down around 50. Pulled off the highway, and the truck died as I decelerated to the first stop light. From then to the house, it was trying to die the whole way, shuddering badly at low speed/RPM. Next day, threw a P0353 , Primary/Secondary Coil Fault at Cylinder #3.