Check Engine light...on.....off.....on.....off??

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2003, 05:19 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Check Engine light...on.....off.....on.....off??

My Check Engine light came on for the first time yesterday. It stayed on for a couple of trips then went off and stayed off lastnight while I was on a 120 mile round trip. It came back on this afternoon. I am new to the Ford truck scene and do not know all the little perks of a Ford yet. Is there any common problems that the Ford truck line has that I am not aware of that would cause this Check Engine light to come on and go off periodically? The truck has the 4.2 V-6, 5 speed with 114,000 miles on it. Please, any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Old 06-29-2003, 05:31 PM
Here's an example of a problem that is much more common on your truck than we'd like:

www.leakingfords.com

The CEL could be coming on for quite a few reasons. You can have the code retreived from the computer at just about any chain auto parts store. If you come back with the code(s), we can do some trouble shooting. An intermittent CEL is usually associated with a misfire. The code will tell you which cylinder.

How's your coolant level been?

Last edited by AjRagno; 06-29-2003 at 05:35 PM.
Old 06-30-2003, 04:48 PM
I took my truck to Auto Zone this morning, he checked the computer in the truck and told me it was the EGR valve. He told me to take it off and clean it with a brush and blow it out a little. What do ya think? Was he right?

Old 07-01-2003, 12:30 AM
Could be right.... Would be able to help with the exact code that you found. Some codes are for EGR. try to find out what specific code you have.

Old 07-01-2003, 09:06 AM
You can remove the EGR valve and try to clean it with Brakeleen, but I don't think that is the problem. It is more likely the DPFE sesnor (EGR Transducer) , the sensor that openes and closes the valve, that has failed.