Replacing my spark plugs

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2003, 06:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing my spark plugs

I am about to replace my plugs for the first time. 56K on the odometer. I am assuming the plugs in there now are stock. Bought the truck with 52 on it. I have the 4.6 w/auto. I am starting some upgrades and want to know what is the best all around plug. This is my first time building a Ford and have seen a lot of people using the Bosch plug. This brings questions to me??

What is everyone else using? I work part time at a parts store, so all name brands are within easy reach.

Thanks in advance!

Old 05-25-2003, 08:16 PM
Only One-

A lot of people I know stay the heck away from Bosch Plats. They foul easy and sometimes even cause misfiring (as was the case in a non-Ford application that I witnessed). I would suggest (just my opinion) Motorcraft Plats., or if you feel like you want to splurge, go with Densos. The only problem with Densos is the fact that they are $8-12 a piece. I think you'd benifit from the Densos more if you have a modified truck. Either way, you can't go wrong with Motorcraft Plats.

Good luck, and wait to see what others suggest.

-Matt

Old 05-25-2003, 09:53 PM
I agree the Motorcraft plat. are a good plug to use. That is what I plan on using when I replace mine. As mf150 stated, unless you have modified your engine the other plugs are basically a waste of money...

Old 05-25-2003, 09:57 PM
JMC
Technical Article Contributor

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
OO,

You can't go wrong with the Motorcraft.
The guys are right, if you have a stock engine don't waste your bucks on the iridium plugs.

Regards

Jean Marc Chartier

Old 05-25-2003, 11:14 PM
Thanks

Thanks alot for the helpful info. I will get to changing those tomorrow. Are there any helpful hints to getting to all 8 plugs?

I remember reading on the NLOC site that a few guys were having trouble with one of the plugs!

Once again, thanks alot

Only one