4R75W Failure - Clutch Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2019, 10:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4R75W Failure - Clutch Problem?

Hey guys, first post here. I'm usually more active in the Powerstroke forums, since my half ton has been spectacular.

Bit of backstory. 2005 5.4, 4wd, currently approaching 240K miles. Like I said, it's been a fantastic truck. I did plugs and coils when I bought it 60K miles ago, and everything else was preventative maintenance until 200K miles, when the original transmission went out all at once. Pulled into a parking spot and it was fine, pulling out and every gear slipped like crazy. Can't fault it for that, it's been worked hard and any automatic transmission that makes it to 200k with lots of heavy towing is OK in my book. I work in the salvage industry, and know just about every junkyard owner in the state, so I got a great deal on a low mileage (90K) used transmission that I swapped in, and it's been good until tonight.

Went to pass someone on the highway, and with my foot to the floor at about 40 the truck downshifted to second as you'd expect. Shifted into third pretty hard, but not hard enough to cause tremendous concern. Fourth and overdrive were fine as always. 20 miles later, the trans fault light came on with the standard flashing overdrive light. Pulled the codes on my edge (running stock tune, I just use it as a monitor), got P0731 and P0732 for incorrect ratios in first and second. Truck was driving fine, so I kept it moving. Came to a stop sign, pulled out, and the truck had no power. Again, foot to the floor and it wasn't slipping, just accelerating like I was barely giving it any gas. After about 15 it caught and actually broke the tires loose, and I made it home.