Body lift vs suspension lift??

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2008, 08:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Body lift vs suspension lift??

Just got my first Ford. F 150 Fx4 leather etc. I am new to this so please forgive the elementary questions. What is the difference between body lift and suspension lift? They both ( I believe ) appear to increase clearance between tires and wheel wells. I will be using truck mostly on road, a bit of "light" off road use such as sand. No plans on taking on the grand canyon. The truck has 17 inch rims. If I go with say a 6 inch lift can I stay with 17 and just get tires with "taller" sidewall so the tires dont looked dwarfed by the lift or will I have to go say 18 or 20?? Tire brand a big deal for example pay big bucks for Nitto or go less expensive?

Best place to buy rims and tires? Online and have installed or purchase loically??

Lastly, pay for brand like Fabtech or just go generic? Again no heavy off road and no plans to show the truck just looking for the "lifted" look with big *** tires at an "affordable" price but dont want to save money at expense of decreasing performance

Old 03-11-2008, 09:05 AM
i'd say go with a 6" basic fabtech kit and some 35x12.50x17 BFGoodrich KM2's on some 17x9 wheels with 5-5.5" backspacing

Old 03-11-2008, 09:33 AM
Thanks Russ

Appreciate the recommendation (I'll keep it in mind) but this does not address my questions about lifts

Jay

Old 03-11-2008, 09:43 AM
Originally Posted by drjay9051
Appreciate the recommendation (I'll keep it in mind) but this does not address my questions about lifts

Jay
sorry didnt get to that
difference between body lift and suspension lift is, 1) a body lift raises the body up off the frame more making more clearance for bigger tires and such. 2) a suspension lift actually lift everything frame and all