2004 F150 5.4L 3V Project

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2017, 02:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 F150 5.4L 3V Project

Hi all,

I just got a project truck needing some engine work and I'm looking for advice from those more experienced than myself (which I expect is pretty much everyone here). I have the 5.4L 3V engine and this is my first time dealing with this particular engine. I haven't yet gone into the engine itself but I have done some reading since I want to be prepared before I start the actual work.

My symptoms are:
- small rattle on startup which goes away after 2-3 seconds
- rough/inconsistent idle
- intermittent knocking sound once the engine is hot

Codes:
P0022 ("A" Camshaft Position - Timing Over-Retarded (Bank 2))
P0174 (System Too Lean (Bank 2))
P0300 (Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected)
P0316 (Engine Misfire Detected on Startup (First 1000 Revolutions))
P0345 (Camshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Malfunction (Bank 2))

So far my thinking is the timing system needs to be replaced. From what I read the VCT system should be inactive under 800rpm, so it seems like one of the VCT solenoids is malfunctioning or stuck open, throwing the timing off while idling. The phasers themselves could also be malfunctioning.

I'm also thinking that the slight rattle on startup is the timing chain itself which to me suggests that the tensioners and/or guides are malfunctioning, so those should be replaced also.

I could replace the cam phasers, vct solenoids, timing chain, guides, tensioners, oil pump (upgrading to a melling m360), roller followers, and lifters, doing all the work myself. But first I want to make a positive identification of the failure(s) so I can be sure about what I'm doing. I want to fix it right and fix it once.

What do you all think? What other diagnostic steps should I perform at this stage?

Old 11-22-2017, 03:59 PM
glc
Received 761 Likes on 704 Posts
So far my thinking is the timing system needs to be replaced.