Pre-1997 Models

rough idle and stalling during warm weather

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2009, 11:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rough idle and stalling during warm weather

Hi peoples. I'm new to this discussion board and I have a problem I'm hoping I can get some help figuring out. I have a 93 F 150 with the 5.0. My problem is a rough and surging idle. I don't have the problem as often when the weather is cold. (I live in north east Ohio) Once spring and summer get here the problem gets very bad. So bad that the engine stalls all most every time once the idle kicks down after starting it. If I keep slight pressure on the gas pedal I don't have the problem so I replaced the TPS. Which didn't help. I tested it according to the directions in a Haynes manual and I have the proper voltage, at the right times. My CEL comes on from time to time as well, but only when the weather is warm. I've tried having a friend pull the codes but they can't get their machine to communicate with my vehicle. I'm at a loss. Any ideas on what the problem could be? Maybe an O2 sensor? I read a post on here where someone had a rough idle and an intermitent CEL and he replaced the O2 sensor and his problems went away. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I tow my bass boat with this truck and having it stall at the ramp is getting to be a pain in the you know where. Thanks in advance for any help you people can offer.

Old 03-02-2009, 04:55 PM
Have you cleaned the throttle body recently? When was the last time it had a tune up?

Old 03-02-2009, 05:30 PM
http://fordfuelinjection.com/?p=13

Time to pull out the paperclip.

Old 03-02-2009, 07:38 PM
Congratulations on randomly throwing parts at a EEC IV truck without knowing what is wrong. FAIL.

Pull codes so you know where to start.

Old 03-06-2009, 01:45 PM