Awful High pitched squeal upon starting.

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 10:33 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Awful High pitched squeal upon starting.

Hello ALL!

I have a 1997 (build date 1/96) F-150 4x4. 4.6 L V8.

After replacing the starter, I now have a high pitched squeal when initially cranking the engine. The engine starts and there are no further issues, but this sound is awfully loud and I have NEVER heard anything like it.

I am no mechanic, but I replaced this fairly easily with the help of my cousin who is in fact an ASE mechanic. It was a very smooth installation after a marginally more difficult removal (some rusty bolts). Can anyone tell me what this noise might be? I have only started the truck 3 times and it did it every time.

Old 07-21-2010, 12:33 PM
I'd have to suspect that the replacement starter is either faulty, or it's a high-rpm motor with a planetary reduction, to give more torque. I've changed a few starters that the new one makes a different noise than the old one did.

Tell us, did the old one look exactly like the new one (motor size, case, etc.), or was it a bit different looking ? Might help us figure if it's with the planetary setup or not.

Old 07-21-2010, 02:34 PM
The old one was only slightly different. Napa premium starter. I have paperwork that states it was tested and passed. This sound is incredibly loud. Low to then very high pitch when cranking. No matter the setup, nothing should make a noise like that. It sounds like a very loud bottle rocket almost.

Old 07-21-2010, 05:26 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
fanbelt mabie?

Old 07-21-2010, 08:19 PM
sounds like the belt. that's an easy fix and cheap so i'd start there.

Old 07-21-2010, 09:02 PM
glc
Received 763 Likes on 706 Posts
The belt won't squeal when cranking - it will squeal when it fires off.

Old 07-21-2010, 10:42 PM
Nope, it's the starter motor. It only made that noise since it was replaced.