Seat Belts and Physics

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-1999, 02:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Seat Belts and Physics

Hey all. I am currently studying mechanical engineering. I was in math class the other night, and we were discussing things like mass, velocity and kinetic energy. My professor demonstrated (mathematically), that if a car traveling at 60 MPH suddenly ran into another moving object, a baby, being held by a person in the passenger seat would inevitably hit the dash. That split second that the child impacts the dash would have an immediate force on that child of over 11,000 (yes, THOUSAND) pounds (4 1/2 TONS). Talk about a revelation you'll never get in any house of worship! The room went from a spirited discussion to dead silence in a heartbeat. I'm sure the police officers in our ranks can verify this.

Something to think about, whether you have kids or not. Sure made me think.

------------------
1999 F-150 4x4 SuperCab, Deep Wedgewood Blue, ORP, 4-Wheel ABS, Loaded, Flowmaster 50 series, K&N, Tint, Super-White headlights, Westin Nerf Bars, Toff Spray-On Bedliner, Pioneer DEH-P3000 and TS-A6815 speakers, ADS PQ/8 amp.

Old 11-13-1999, 02:12 PM
That's why hospitals won't let you take your baby home from the hospital unless you have an infant carrier.
And you should also take the infant seat in your vehicle to the local fire Dept. where they will perform a saftey check on the placement and fastening of the seat for free. 9 out of 10 are NOT properly fastened in the vehicle!!!

Old 11-13-1999, 02:20 PM