loud, Louder, LOUDEST

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2004, 03:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
loud, Louder, LOUDEST

I have a flowmaster 40 series (1 in- 2 out) on my truck right now. What can I do to make it louder?

2000 F-150 XLT
4x4
4.6L
Regular cab
Off-Road package

Old 11-29-2004, 03:46 PM
Take it off and run straight pipes. Scrap the cats and get some headers. Then you will be loud.

OR, you can get some high flow cats. This should make it a little louder.

Old 11-29-2004, 08:27 PM
Taking the cats off will mess with my oxygen sensors right?
So how do I get around that?

Old 11-29-2004, 08:52 PM
O2 simulators, or MIL eliminators. Get them in any auto. catalog. They screw into the exhaust pipe up by the motor exactly the same distance away from the motor that the cat. converter sensors were. They fool the computer to thinking that the converters are still on. No check engine lights or problems.

Remember also, running no converters is illegal, and could get you a nice set of fines for not having them. If you want a safe way to better converter options, go to ebay and look up Magnaflow hi flo converters. A pair of 2.5" converters ($115 shipped for both) should be a nice replacement for your stock cats. Run true dual straight pipes (no mufflers) off of those, you should be happy.

Good luck!

Old 11-30-2004, 06:07 PM
Isn't running no muffler illegal also?

Old 11-30-2004, 07:54 PM
Well actually if you read the law here in Florida, it states that altering you exhaust from the manufacturer setup is illegal. Basically, if your stcok muffler goes bad, by law you must replace it with a completly OE muffler. They do not enforce this very strickly however. They will just pull you over if you are too loud in there opinion. And since no stock muffler system is loud, they will always be within their right to fine you.

Old 11-30-2004, 10:55 PM
What about in Kentucky? or Ohio??

Old 12-01-2004, 02:44 PM