3" pipe don't make sense

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2004, 02:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3" pipe don't make sense

Am I wrong for thinking that using a 3" exhaust is a waste? I've read the whole backpressure thing and that makes sense to me, but, my question is (all things being equal) that if the beginning connection(from the manifold) is only 2 1/2 inches, then expanding it to three is just as useless as SI/DO exhaust setup.

This is not meant disrespectfully towards anybody's setup, I'm new at this "MOD" game and am trying to figure out my next best move. I thought I would be happy with K&N FIPK + Troyer Performance 1715 programmer, but I WANT MORE.

I'm saving for either a turbo/supercharger setup, but in the meantime I want to upgrade the exhaust. Word on the street is dual with a crosspipe and high flow cats will ultimately be in my best interest(might even be right now, depending on who you ask). But the whole 2 1/2" pipe Q boggles me, should I also be thinking about headers, too?????

Thanks for everybody's help(as usual)
Scott

YES!!! I FINALLY FIGURED OUT HOW TO PUT MY TRUCKS PIC IN WITHOUT A LINK!!! AND IT'S 2 A.M. (always thought I did my best work this late)

Old 08-12-2004, 10:41 AM
Focus on the "single" 2.5" pipe exiting the Y-intersection in the factory setup. Flow runs from the engine to the rear. At this single 2.5" point, you will never flow anything more rearward. So, yes, 3" behind this is a waste of time exactly like fake duals. If you have enough power to need a single 3" exhaust, you have to increase the Y-intersection exit to 3". This is done by chopping out the Y-intersection and replacing it with a 2.5" DI/3" SI aftermarket Y-pipe. There are a bunch of posts about this mod in the archives if you need part numbers and photos.

Old 08-15-2004, 03:08 PM
That's just not so.