factory stereo draining battery

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 12:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question something draining battery 98 F150

hi, noob here with some strange problems on a 1998 F150 SC 4x4 Lariat (77K miles) that I bought new back in late 97.

I've been having an issue with the battery not holding a charge.

I haven't completely ruled out a bad battery yet but it was purchased new in 2/11.

The alternator seems to be ok as I'm getting about 14.2 volts at the battery while idling.

So, I decided it must be a dead short somewhere draining the battery. I disconnected the neg battery cable and clipped my test light the battery and touched the probe to the cable end - with the truck off, the test light burns bright.

I started through the process of pulling one fuse at a time - only had to pull 8 fuses before I found the culprit.

In the main fuse box under the hood, fuse 6 seems to be the culprit. When I pull it, the light goes out and stays out.

The owner's manual says that fuse is for the "Radio, Premium Sound Amplifier, CD Changer". I've left that fuse pulled for now but have no radio and am going to see if my troubles go away.

Later, I'm going to check further - the wiring diagram I have shows 3 fuses for that system - looks like past this main fuse is one that powers the head unit, and one that powers the amp and CD Changer.

So, has anyone encounter anything similar?

Can anyone tell me where the Premium Sound Amplifier is?

Is there any place I can download a service manual for this truck?

Any thoughts are appreciated!

regards,
Mike

Last edited by kernelpanic; 08-17-2011 at 07:41 PM. Reason: changed title
Old 08-17-2011, 02:46 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Sounds like a bit of flawed checking.