Got a used Edge Programer, now what?

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2013, 12:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got a used Edge Programer, now what?

My friend has an 07 f150 with 4.6 in it. He is about to get him a new truck and he gave me his Edge Programer for free. I have an 08 with the 4.6 in it also. Is there anything I should do before I use it, I am skeptical to just plug it in and see what it does. My 08 only has 53k on it with no problems...I'm mainly interested in the gauges the Edge features, plus free is always good. So is there anything I need to know before I plug it in? This is my only vehicle and don't want to mess anything up.

I'm new to these programmers but I've heard lots of good things from people that have them and say they wake the 4.6 up

Old 12-08-2013, 01:09 AM
Global Moderator &

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Did he return his truck to the stock tune before removing it? If not, it will be locked. Next, it has to recognize the your truck's PCM strategy, your HEX code. If it does, you will be good to download a tune.

Sent from my iPhone using IB AutoGroup

Old 12-08-2013, 11:04 AM
If he did return it to the stock tune before removing it, I can go ahead and connect it to my truck with no problems? I'll have to ask him. What if he didn't set it back to stock, and his truck is already traded in? Is it still usable?

Old 12-08-2013, 11:15 AM
Global Moderator &

If he returned out to stock, the next step is to hook it up and see if it recognizes your HEX code. If it does, you can proceed, if not, contact Edge. If it's not returned to stock, Edge will have to help you. There is a fee for restoring the hardware.

Old 12-08-2013, 11:41 AM
Thanks for all your help. What should I do if my friend doesn't know if it was returned to stock. I have a feeling that's the answer I'm going to get from him when I ask...lol Just hook it up and see what it does?

Old 12-08-2013, 11:44 AM
Global Moderator &

Yes, won't hurt anything to try it.