Windshield Scratches?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2005, 01:36 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Windshield Scratches?

Hey RockPick,

Here’s a good one for you. The ex was driving her SUV the other day (apparently too cold for the broom) and she found herself without an ice scraper. So, she grabbed a frozen hunk of snow (or so she thought) and proceeded to scrape her windshield with it. The next day, she discovered all sorts of scratches in her windshield. Any thoughts as to how to get those bad boys out without replacing the whole windshield?

Old 01-21-2005, 05:25 PM
Moderator &

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Man, I'm not sure I'm your guy here. I have to stop short of giving advice when I'm not 110% clear on the usage and results.

Maybe Boss or someone can help out... I just don't know what to tell you bud. Sorry.

I'd rather tell you 'I don't know' than blow warm air up your buttocks... LOL!

RP

Old 01-22-2005, 02:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2stroked,

I am not an expert on this subject by any means, but I have heard of a couple of different solutions. Depending upon how severe the scratches are you can try a product called "Bar Keepers Friend" this is a very fine abrasive powder much like "comet" scouring powder but only finer and it is not supposed to scratch. I would try this on a piece of window glass or something similar before potentially making the situation worse.

Otherwise I think Meguirs or mothers makes a glass polish ....maybe this will help. Just a thought. Good Luck.

Bar Keepers Friend is found at the grocery store or walmart in the cleaning section next to Comet.

Old 01-22-2005, 02:33 PM
Moderator &

I've heard of using BKF for hard-water spot removal but never for scratches... Hmm... maybe it'd work? I dunno.

Old 01-22-2005, 07:21 PM
RP

You're correct, the BKF is great for cleaning windshields (especially bugs) but will probably not get significant scratches out.