Autotek??

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2003, 09:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Autotek??

I was looking at www.electronicgiant.com and saw the autotek MX5000. http://www.electronicgiant.com/catal...oducts_id=1565 Does anyone know if these are quality amps? It could fit my powerneeds pretty well but i dont want to buy somthing thats not gonna hold up to what it says. I was also looking at the Planet Audio P2250D. http://www.electronicgiant.com/catal...roducts_id=829 . Depending on what style and impedence of subs i use either of these would work. I would just like to know if any of you guys know if there quality or not.

Thanks,
X

Last edited by RoadRacer-X; 09-05-2003 at 09:44 AM.
Old 09-05-2003, 12:55 PM
I have in the past used the Autotek amplifiers and they are great amps. They are not as widely known as some other brands but high quality none the less. IMO, they are much better than the Planet Audio in terms of reliability. I worked in a shop that carried both lines and our returns for repair were much lower on the Autotek's. I also helped build a demo van for Autotek that utilized 16 12" bass thrust subs and bass thrust amps and I must say that it did pound. Either way you go you should be happy with the results but I feel from my experience with both products that the Autotek is the better of the two amps.

Old 09-05-2003, 06:24 PM
Thanks for the info! I was hoping it was a good amp because of the price on it . One of my many thoughts and the one im leaning towards right now is Running 2 12" Fosgate Power HX2 subs with the MX5000 amp. The sub is 1000rms, 2000peak, and they have dual 2 ohm voice coils so if i wire them in combination of series and parralel it will run the amp at 2ohms which should give 1200watts to each sub. Any problems or suggestions with this setup? I would really like to get everything right from the word go.

Thanks,
X

Old 09-05-2003, 06:39 PM