2004 - 2008 F-150

5.4 Rough Idle, possibly evap related, looking for help

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2016, 09:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5.4 Rough Idle, possibly evap related, looking for help

Good Morning All,

Looking for some input/help please. I've got a 2007 F150 FX4, 5.4 3V, with 70k miles. I've had a rough idle that I've been chasing for a couple months. Seems worst when AC/defrost is running, but I'm noticing it now slightly without AC as well, more so with warm engine sitting in drive than cold and/or in park. It's minimal, but noticeable, all the time though.

No CEL's. With all new OEM parts I've replaced spark plugs, COP's, air filter, fuel filter, MAF, Throttle body w/ TPS, run multiple bottles of techron through the tank, motorcraft oil filter and oil was just changed.

I started thinking maybe I had a bad plug or COP out of the box, so decided I'd get something to check mod$06 from the OBDII. Downloaded OBD Fusion app for my iphone and ordered an ELM32 wifi OBD adapter.

The app is working great (I'd recommend it for a $25 total investment), caused me to switch gears a little on the troubleshooting. mod$06 is showing (0) misfires. However, it is showing a failed test for $3C TID $81 EVAP MONITOR (0.020") failed. And that's the only one that hasn't passed.

Not sure if this is the source of my rough idle, but since it's broke I want to fix it. I've ordered a new gas cap since it's the easiest part to replace related to the evap loop from what I can tell.

However, my question for all the folks who know a lot more about this stuff than me. I passed the negative 0.020" pressure (TID $82) test, but not the positive pressure (TID $81) test. Is this an indication of which component in the loop is failing?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Old 03-08-2016, 10:33 AM
just to throw it out there, I changed my coolant temperature sensors and it fixed my terrible idle my 89 had. Sometimes idle air control valve can cause a problem too