2004 - 2008 F-150

Cracked Wheel

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2012, 03:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cracked Wheel

Well VA just had their first snow storm last week and being that I am a landscape contractor, we were out plowing. Now onto the problem, in route to my house to pick up some things, I came around a turn way too fast and skidded into a curb. Cracked the rim and bent the lip and somehow dented the tire. I've found a wheel from a truck at a salvage yard but the tire has been flat and basically the whole wheel has been holding the truck up while it sits in half dirt, and asphalt. Would this be a wheel to stay away from since the tire has been flat for a long time?

Old 02-25-2012, 06:34 PM
Is there any visual damage to the junkyard wheel? I wouldn't worry too much about it sitting as long as there's still old rubber on it flat or not. Can only speak for myself though

Old 02-25-2012, 08:08 PM
Received 45 Likes on 44 Posts
Factory alloys or steelies?

The J/Y wheel you describe is likely fine, I'ld use it. If I had serious question about it, easy to mount just the wheel on a tire balancer and give her a spin watching for run out.

Which wheel on your truck is bent, frt or rear? If front, watch for unusual tire wear. Especially if alloy, they are stiffer in the centers than steel wheels and will transfer greater shock to the suspension depending on how hit. The tire being "dented" is likely just because the lip is bent, it'll take the proper shape on a good wheel. Just inspect it real good inside and out when dismounted.

Last edited by tbear853; 02-26-2012 at 01:05 AM.
Old 02-25-2012, 08:26 PM
The tire may have an impact break and not be safe anymore. They'll let you know when you go to get it mounted.

Old 02-26-2012, 09:19 AM