2004 - 2008 F-150

Got my '06...

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2005, 11:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got my '06...

And right away I had 2nd thoughts about losing my '97. I was amazed how much Ford has "decontented" this truck. Little things, like the 2nd sun visor on the drivers side, the straps on the top of the visors to hold things, the fact that the carpeting is so short it doesn't have a pile, the cheap feeling in all the switches. I've been driving Fords for 34 years, and have enough faith in them that I didn't even test drive one before I ordered... perhaps a mistake? I'm kinda amazed I have to buy new shocks and tires for a new truck.
This is my 4th day driving it, and I'm starting to warm up to it a bit, which is good, since this is the only truck I have now.
I love the satellite radio, but am rather bummed that its on the auxilliary circuit, so I don't have the MP3 option. I think they should tell you that the sat radio negates MP3.
I like the fact that you can turn on the fog lights without the headlights. Because the round fogs are inset so far into the bumper, the foglights don't hit the ground immediately in front of the truck...I might try to move them forward a bit. There's an icon for rear foglights on the light switch.
Have no comment on the horsepower vs. my '97, I'm just babying it for the first couple of thousand miles.
Definatly dig the rear windows rolling down. Also appreciate the back up sensor because of the high tailgate.
When I removed the rear seatback to find room for my amps, I was amazed @ how much steel had been added for the child restraints and center shouder belt. Kinda explains why other areas were decontented.
SO don't flame me for not loving my truck yet. Like I said earlier, I'm a dedicated Ford man. If I have half as much fun & good memories as I had in my '97, I'll be fine.

Old 10-04-2005, 11:46 AM
Dexter,