Complaints; ecoboost

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2013, 07:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Complaints; ecoboost

I have a 2000 with the 4.2L V-6 and this heading covers that engine but also includes the "Ecoboost" V-6. Now I'm new to F150s and prior to getting mine I knew nothing about them.
First of all let me state that this forum has been very interesting and helpful to me. I've had question in the past and have gotten good info on here.
Now, what is an Ecoboost V-6 and why do they seem to have so many problems. Recent threads include; Ecoboost acceleration problems, disappointed with Ecoboost, Ecoboost overheating, Ecoboost sluggish acceleration, and etc.
What changed from the 4.2 V-6 that I have to the present engine? Is it an improvement or something else?
Let me add, in closing, that I've been very pleased with my F150. I'm just hoping that I don't have as much trouble with mine as some/many do with the Ecoboost engine.

Old 03-27-2013, 07:36 PM
Your motor shares nothing in common with the Ecoboost.

Old 03-27-2013, 07:43 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
yer truck has very little in common with the ecotooter....except the blue oval and f150 badges....

Old 03-27-2013, 08:43 PM
haha ill be the one to do it. op your motor is na or naturally aspirated. the new ecoBOOST is forced induction meaning more power from the turbos. problems arose from intercoolers, license plate placement, and towing in the top gear (i believe). thats all i can help with. fingers crossed youre not a troll

Old 03-27-2013, 09:25 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
There's nothing in common between your 4.2 and the 3.5 EB other than the logo. The 4.2 is a cast iron block, push rod motor from the Essex series of motors. The EB is an aluminum block DOHC from the Duratec series.