04 F150 Shudder transmission??

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2013, 09:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
04 F150 Shudder transmission??

Been a lurker for a while finally glad to have signed up for this forum. Unfortunately my first post has to be about a problem Ive been having with my truck recently.

A little background: Truck is a 2004 F150 Lariat Supercrew w/ 5.4. 2WD automatic. 155,000 miles. around 5-6000 miles ago had cam phaser replaced, spark plugs and other preventative parts that go along with the phaser. COPS boots were replaced but not COPS themselves.

I have been running an edge evolution programmer for about 2 months besides that the truck is stock.

Before the programmer was having minor problems with the transmission but really only when quickly accelerating such as on the interstate etc. truck would, "jump" into overdrive and kind of shake.

The programmer completely fixed that problem but now I have a new problem. When im at around 35mph/45mph and let off the gas for a second then push it again to accelerate to go up a hill or something the truck will shudder/bump. sometimes one time up to 3-4. feels like its slipping gears or something. doesn't do it all the time but enough to concern me.

I originally thought it was from the programmer and do plan on sending it in to get custom tunes(once I get exhaust) but today I set it back to stock and now it does it even worse!

Any ideas?

Last edited by Sollie7; 08-29-2013 at 09:42 PM.
Old 08-29-2013, 09:51 PM
i dont really think a programer can fix tranny issues, nor do i think custom tunes will either. if stock parts are not working on a factory tune, thats where id start

Old 08-29-2013, 10:04 PM
Originally Posted by jdeacon
i dont really think a programer can fix tranny issues, nor do i think custom tunes will either. if stock parts are not working on a factory tune, thats where id start