sorry another torsion bar question

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2009, 03:00 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sorry another torsion bar question

i searched but i couldn't find a direct answer..

basically how high can you crank the torsion bars on a 98 4x4 without running into trouble?

ik on the NBS most ppl get the 2.5" kit so is that all the higher i can go on the old body style?? i want to level the truck but i also want to put an aal in the back and i've heard they lift them around 1" so i was hoping i could get 3" of lift in the front to pretty much level the truck

also i've heard ppl run bilstein 5100's to get 2" of lift in the front...does this work on the 97-03's as well??

also want to add a 3" body to essentially have 6" of lift

im sure my thining is flawed somewhere as im totally new to modding suspensions on trucks

Old 02-17-2009, 09:44 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You can probably crank your torsion bars up all the way using your OEM adjustment keys without any problem. Just make sure your CV and ball joints don't appear to be at an extreme angle.
If you add a 3 inch body lift, you will wind up with a truck that sits around 5 inches taller than stock. This will allow you to fit up to a 35x12.50 tire on a 10 inch wide wheel.
The new trucks have coilover shocks up front. The shocks on our truck do not support any body weight so changing shocks has no affect on ride height.

Last edited by wandell; 02-17-2009 at 09:46 AM.
Old 02-17-2009, 09:48 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i ran my truck w/ 35's, a body lift, and the torsion bars cranked fully for about two years. using the stock keys, you will face no issues in achieving a correct alignment. you will get about 2.5''s out of the bars, at most. the tires themselves will provide 1.5'' of lift. w/ the body lift, you will have a stance 7'' higher than stock.