97 4.6L windsor top end rebuild issue...

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2012, 09:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 97 4.6L windsor top end rebuild issue...

Howdy,
I recently bought a 97 F150 (4.6L Windsor, Styleside, Extended Cab, 4x4). I picked it up for cheap due to the fact that it needed some work...mainly, it needed head gaskets, manifolds and a thorough tune-up (it has 160,000 miles). I've rebuilt my share of motors and was confident that I could do the job. That said, I've mainly been a Jeep guy so I am a bit new to the Ford motors in general.
I recently stripped the engine down to the block, cleaned and checked the valves, rockers, replaced valve seals (all within spec... according to Haynes) and reassembled the heads. I cleaned the block and checked the pistons and rings and all is well there too. I put the heads and fresh gaskets on along with new head bolts. I put the timing back together (according to the Haynes manual) and the crank turned freely two revolutions. I put the valve covers back on, intake, ect... I replaced the thermostat with a new one as well as new oem spark plugs and wires as well...put a new oil filter and oil pressure sending sensor on...filled the radiator and replaced the belt and tensioner...
So...here comes the panic!!!
I went ahead and tried to start it...and...I hear what appears to be a "valve slap" of some sort...the engine was turning over but wouldn't fire...so I let it sit for a second and checked for any leaks...I went to attempt to start it again and ... NOTHING!!!
I'm assuming that this is a timing issue but I'm not exactly familiar with Fords just yet...I'm hoping that someone here may have a few ideas so I can get this up and running! I'm sure that I'm forgetting something...
Thanks ahead of time!
D

Old 09-28-2012, 09:58 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
did you set the timing correctly? if you were off by one or two links of the chain it will do what it is doing.

Old 09-28-2012, 10:07 AM