Wrong Spark Plugs Used.

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2010, 11:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wrong Spark Plugs Used.

I just noticed after ordering replacement spark plugs online that the ones previously sent to me by an EBay seller were the wrong ones. The ones he sent were for the "Lightning" 5.4 V8 F150, not the standard. It was one of those deals where you buy the COP's and they give you a set of plugs to go with it. He claimed they were the right ones. I still should have checked.

Comparing the two plugs (the standard and Lightning), the required gaps are different. So if I was going off of the standard gap but using the Lightning plugs, I would have had the gap set wrong from the start.

I have been using the plugs for about 7 months. The truck right now is running terrible. It began running rough after a rain a ways back. I replaced the COP's a few months back but it did bot fix the problem. Now I am going to replace the plugs.

Does anybody know what running the "Lightning" plugs in the standard 5.4 V8 does to the engine?

Thanks.

1999 F150 XLT, 5.4 V8

Old 11-04-2010, 11:48 AM
Global Moderator &

Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Originally Posted by mg175150
I just noticed after ordering replacement spark plugs online that the ones previously sent to me by an EBay seller were the wrong ones. The ones he sent were for the "Lightning" 5.4 V8 F150, not the standard. It was one of those deals where you buy the COP's and they give you a set of plugs to go with it. He claimed they were the right ones. I still should have checked.

Comparing the two plugs (the standard and Lightning), the required gaps are different. So if I was going off of the standard gap but using the Lightning plugs, I would have had the gap set wrong from the start.