Check engine light keeps coming on

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2002, 08:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Check engine light keeps coming on

My check engine light came on in my 96 F150. Take it to the garage,Guy say it was a bogus code. Resets my computer,next day light comes on again.He check it again,says its burning rich on 1 sensor,lean on the other sensor.I buy all three sensors and replace them all(as I was told to do) Next day the light comes on again, I call the guy and ask WTF is going on.He says it is just a hit and miss situation. I am a contractor I don't go to peoples homes and tear out their main panel box when it may only be a bad bulb. Is this guy jerking me around and there is no other way but hit and miss? Has somebody had this same problem? It spits and sputters Please help me
I'm going to work on my '70 least there is no F---ing computer

Old 07-31-2002, 11:20 PM
Hehehe.

This is exactly the situation I addressed in another thread.

And what happened to you is EXACTLY why you don't reach for the code scanner first. (So much for the tool box full of hammers, eh AjRagno????)

Please read my responses (and disregard the harsh tone) and your question should be answered. If not, please post any additional questions you have and I'll try to help. It's tough to diagnose over the internet, but some problems have a 'signature' series of events that happen (regardless of what 'mechanics' may have you believe).

I've been through this exact same thing more times than I can count and it's always the same. Some techno-nerd just won't believe that diagnosis can happen if it isn't through the computer.

---WrongdayJ

Old 08-01-2002, 07:27 AM
More details

I dropped it off at the garage this morning,waiting to hear what they have to say. After the 3 o2 sensors what can be next?
Could it be as simple as a vaccum line? I just bought this to have as a work truck ( only has 39 K on her ) I just got my