New Guy with questions looking for answers.

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2002, 06:59 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post New Guy with questions looking for answers.

Hello from Florida. I am not new to cars of Fords but I am new to the new trucks. I have admired them since the new body style and have actually considered going back to Ford from previous bad experiences because of my good impression of the styling. I have been mildly looking at the brand new trucks but I hate payments and I don't want to pay that much cash for any new vehicle. (Not a cheapskate just have better things to do with that much cash...:-)).

I have found a 1997 XL SuperCab with a 4.2 V-6 and automatic transmission. The engine is knocking. I have called some engine builders for crate engine prices and have gotten my best jobber cost of $2099 delivered. I am surprised at the lack of availability of this particular engine.

I am also researching as best I can any known problems and solutions to this engine. I am learning that there seesm to be a high rate of reported rod knocks and head gasket problems. Do you guys concur?

Do you guys have suggestions?

Do you guys have some well earned advice from owning this engine?

Do you guys have any info on how I can maybe renew this engine without going the whole new longblock scenario? Obviously it can be rebuilt. But are there issues concerning this that I need to pay particular attention too?

Is there any known relief being offered by Ford in the form or recalls or acknowledgement of problems with this particular engine?

I think the price is right for the truck, but not if I'm buying nothing but a headache, and not if I'm going to require another $3000 in additional cost just to get it back to being whole again.

Help guys. You are the reasomn I'm here.

Old 03-05-2002, 10:00 AM
Suspended For Violation of Vendor Rules