Transmission temp gauge install question...

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 01:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transmission temp gauge install question...

Hey everyone! Sorry in advance for the likely duplicate or similar thread..... I'm a newbie to towing and thought it would be wise to add a temp gauge for the tranny. Now, on auto meters website, they go in to say that a hoke may need to be drilled into the pan.

While this is totally understandable, for obvious reasons, is it the only way? Does Ford have a point of connection for such a gauge already located on the unit? (I just installed a p2 brake controller, and it was 'plug and play')

Any help or links to a 'how to' in this forum would be great, as well as ANY advice from this who have done it.

Thanx for reading, glad I found this awesome site!

5.4L 4x4 2002 Supercrew?

?

Old 10-19-2010, 02:57 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I put mine in the transmission output line that runs into the top of the rad on the drivers side. You get a better temp reading there. I added mine closer to the top of the rad to keep it out of the weather and salt in the winter. A quick search will find you several threads with pictures. That is how I decided on my location.

Old 10-19-2010, 03:37 PM
You double posted. Mods don't like that.

Old 10-20-2010, 03:16 PM
Thanks grizzstang, I appreciate your help and advice! What type of gauge setup did you purchase? Would hope to find a pod or mount in the right color to match the truck. All I've found is black so far. (need tan, or whatever ford calls it)

Old 10-22-2010, 04:15 PM
You can buy paint to match your interior color , just go to a auto paint supplier. its sold in spray cans.

Old 10-25-2010, 05:33 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Moto_xmayhem21