Need tranny advise

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2010, 12:25 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need tranny advise

Hello, I'm new to this whole forum thing. I've kinda shifted through this site quite a bit trying to find answers but no luck.

First

Ok, my situation, I own a 1997 F150 XLT (Daily Driver, work truck)with a 5.4 and from what I understand to be a 4r100 (Door sticker said "E" under transmission) and 4.10 gears. When the truck has been setting for a day and I begin driving, 1st and 2nd gear seem fine. But 3rd will catch and hold at 2800 Rpm at 55mph (normally 2500 or less, I do not quite recall), then it will fall into over drive at 2200 rpm (normally 1700 -1800 rpm) when traveling at 55mph. It will hold this higher rmp for about 15 minutes before it will go back to running at the normal rpm range.

Also, when the truck is in over drive, but still running at the higher rpms, if I turn the overdrive off, it downshifts into 3rd (high rpm) very very violently. It's been like this for over a year and occurs in cooler weather, but it has become more frequent lately.

So any advise? All is greatly appreciated. Oh, truck has 181000 miles, no mods besides CAI, headers, and true duel exhaust.

Second

What kind of power can this transmission handle. I'm still up in the air between 3 set ups.
1) NA, cams, heads, tune
2) Centrifical supercharger (unsure what level of boost)
3) Turbo set up (still unsure about boost, still researching)
What would be required to handle this power (hoping 425 to 500hp).

Once again thanks.

Old 01-26-2010, 12:31 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
181000 miles is alot if thats the original trans, be happy it has lasted that long I sense an overhaul in the near future. The 4R100 has alot of aftermarket available due to it being in the lightning/superduty. Most good trans shops know all of the weak areas to address and improve and can pretty much make a 4R100 bullitproof if done right. Good luck

Old 01-26-2010, 01:30 AM