Looking for Trans pan

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2007, 06:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for Trans pan

Hi guys/gals...

I'm a total newbie. Please be patient with me. I bought my first F-150 two days ago, before that I drove a Geo Metro. I got a 2007 F-150 standard cab STX model with the 4.2 liter V6 with 4 speed automatic trans and I have some questions...

1. Where (online) can I get a decent automatic trans pan with a drain plug that doesn't cost $400? (Preferably one that allows me to use the stock transmission filter)

2. Is the urine-colored coolant necessary and if not, what can I use to replace it?

3. Axle lube - the owners' manual says the lubricant in the axle is good for life, but I used to work in a quick-lube place and I've seen this stuff turn jet black in a short ammount of time. Any recomendations on a good gear oil would be appreciated.

I really appreciate any help you guys/gals could give me. Thanks a lot. - John

Old 07-23-2007, 10:02 AM
The options you have are. Put a drain plug in a stock pan which will cost you about $35. Buy a stock pan with a drain plug from ford which are about $75 or Buy an aftermarket aluminum pan which I'm not sure exactly who has what, the ones I buy from time to time are $125. All pans will use the stock filter.

Coolant can be flushed and replaced with green coolant.

The OEM 75w140 synthetic fluid does hold up very well. Life means 100,000 miles so when it's time to change it I suggest using that fluid again. If you have a traction lock you also want 2 bottles of ford friction modifier.

Alan

Old 07-24-2007, 08:12 PM
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
I am not trying to be disagreeable but the coolant needs to be an approved type for that year truck and motor combination.
There is a reason it is the color it is from the factory.
Check it out first before putting in any other brew.

Old 07-25-2007, 12:17 PM
The new coolants are supposed to be low tox, meaning you can drink it if you really wanted to....