4R70W a good transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2005, 12:34 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4R70W a good transmission?

I'm new to the F150 world and I just figured out I have the 4R70W tranmission. In the world of 1/2 ton trucks, is this a good transmission? At 44k miles the dealer put a new transmission in immediately after I bought it but it could be that the previous owner hammered it.

Would you call the 4R70W, heavy duty?

Someone in another thread said you can "bullet proof" them. I went through all the tranmission threads here and didn't see any info. What can I do to bullet proof it?

Thanks. Just trying to figure out what I have here.

2001 SuperCrew 4x4, 5.4 with Kenne Bell Supercharger, 45k miles

Old 01-15-2005, 03:51 AM
that tranny is not the HDuty one...the 100 is...which is in the Harley and lightnings.....and the 7700gvw....half tons.

The majority f series, expy, explorer have that...including mine....

It is decent....some had bad luck...but not the norm.

I have a towing package on mine...so have a aux tranny cooler on mine...

Old 01-15-2005, 11:42 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hello Fordlinks

My S'crew has the 4R70W tranny with cooler. I have had the truck since new, and it now has a little over 30k miles on it. I have not had any trouble at all with this tranny. I have towed a pretty heavy bass boat with it, and it has performed flawlessly. When towing I recommend turning the O/D off. It will stop the tranny from hunting gears too often AND it will keep your O/D band from wearing out. Also the tranny cooler will really keep the fluid in good shape. I would say that your tranny will, for the most part, do what your truck overall is designed to do. My truck came with the Class III towing package AND the tranny with cooler, so it's designed to do some pretty respectable towing. What matters is how well you take care of your vehicle. If you keep servicing it as per your scheduled maintenance guide, chances are you will be fine.