Towing & Hauling

Would a 150 or 250 be better for my towing?

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2001, 01:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Would a 150 or 250 be better for my towing?

Hi, I am a total newbie as I don't even have a truck yet. But I love your site and dream about one day being the owner of a F150.
My newbie question is, (and I have looked for the answer) I want a truck for towing. I will be towing a 2500lb-ish canoe trailer along the highway and down some country roads, the journey is pretty flat, about 15 miles each way, and I would be doing it about 3 times each week during the summer.
Now should I get a F150 or a F250?? Is there an engine size I should go for? Do I need a 4x4?
Also I can only afford about $3000, so that limits me to the '88 to '93 F150's which I like the look of anyway.

I look forward to your advice.

Old 12-26-2001, 03:11 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Cool Welcome.......

If all you are going to tow is a 2500 # trailer, then an F150 will do just fine. But, if you are like most, you'll end up getting a bigger trailer (or boat) at some point, so consider that too. I'd say that you should be fine all the way up to a 5k # trailer and an F150. Sure, it's "rated" to tow more, but it's always best to stay under just a tad for safety sakes.

Good luck in your decision, and make sure you really check out that used rig before buying!! You never know what the previous owner hauled or towed with it.

Old 12-27-2001, 03:47 AM
An F-150 would be perfect for your needs. As to the question of needing 4x4, you'll have to base your decision on the condition of the ramp you will be using.

What I would do is spend a day watching the ramp and seeing if anybody is having problems with launching and retrieving with a 4x2.

My guess would be a 4x2 with limited slip rear end would be more than adequate for your load. A 4x2 would be cheaper to buy, maintain, and operate than a 4x4, so if you can avoid buying a 4x4, you'll be that much further ahead.