I have a 2004 Ford F-150 4.6L 2 valve XL. Stalling

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2018, 11:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have a 2004 Ford F-150 4.6L 2 valve XL. Stalling

The F-150 is stalling at lights and also while driving. if driving lets say on the highway, It starts to Bog down PAT's light comes on solid. Like the ignition cuts. but because it is rolling seems like Automatic transmission allows to 'Push Start like a Standard Trans. It has new ford Plugs and I put Accell Super Coils in it. A new Fuel filter, new air filter. Starting to do it more often. I have heard a noise under the hood for a few seconds and goes away sometimes ( don't know what the noise might be, maybe afraid to find out! ). I have put my scan tool on it. It is a Craftsman 20899 it shows fuel pressure and the O2 sensor and mixture data. I am no expert. I think the reported fuel pressure was about 35-40 PSI. Right now I am waiting for drive cycle to get over with. I had replaced a fuel Filter and forgot to reconnect the electrical connector for it before I started it. of course it threw a code letting me know. I erase the code and all of drive cycle tests are done except the EVA one. hard to get rid of the code with it keeping on stalling so often. Truck has 93,000 miles on it.

Last edited by bsigsbury; 11-19-2018 at 11:38 AM. Reason: wanted to add some more info
Old 11-19-2018, 11:45 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 259 Likes on 250 Posts
Is it new body style or heritage?

Old 11-19-2018, 12:18 PM
It is the New Body Style, Supercab with 6 1\2 bed. I have only had it for 4,000 miles

Old 11-19-2018, 12:32 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 259 Likes on 250 Posts
OK. Check the FPDM for corrosion and or cracks.

It's location is under the truck, around the spare tire area.

Old 11-19-2018, 12:48 PM