Pre-1997 Models

Fuel pump help

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2019, 12:29 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Fuel pump help

1992 F150 4X4 302 Single fuel tank

I have not had any problems at all with starting or running. Stopped at a friends house for 15 minutes and truck won't start. Starter fluid in intake and it fires right up for a second.
Cannot hear fuel pump running. Replaced Fuel Pump fuse and relay no help. 234.000 miles I figured fuel pump was dead. Replaced it and no help.

No obvious rusty or broken grounds, button not popped on inertia switch,

I am not a mechanic but have always been able to keep my vehicles running.
I am stumped on what to do next.
I am going to check old fuel pump to see if it will run.

Thanks!

Old 11-04-2019, 12:59 PM
I can add old fuel pump seems to run. Fuel gauge works and no engine lights!

Old 11-04-2019, 01:14 PM
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Posted in wrong subforum

Old 11-04-2019, 10:29 PM
Dang it. Truck has me crazy! Sorry about that!

Old 11-04-2019, 10:54 PM
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
do a Fuel Pressure test, and suspect a fuel filter that hasn't been changed in 28 years.

Old 11-04-2019, 11:36 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 52 Likes on 49 Posts
No sweat! Moved it into the right section. You don't need any Valium.

- Jack

Old 11-05-2019, 09:34 AM
Received 220 Likes on 200 Posts
Sounds like it's time to get out a wiring diagram and volt meter and do some trouble shooting.

Old 11-05-2019, 03:46 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 52 Likes on 49 Posts
ftw46 - I just merged the new thread you started on this problem with your original thread and deleted a redundant post. We've found multiple threads on a common topic lead to confusing responses that can waste your time and cost you extra money. Please confine your posts on this issue to this thread, Thanks!

- Jack

Old 11-05-2019, 05:05 PM
Received 41 Likes on 37 Posts