System

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2010, 09:10 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
System

Ok, I know this fits in almost all the other categories(haha) in the audio/video, but I decided to put it here. So, I am very new to all the audio stuff. First of my head unit in my 2001 f-150 ext. cab isnt reading my cds right(when my dads 99 f-150 with the same stero will) so I decided that I will start my audio overhaul in my truck with a head unit. I eventually want to replace all 4 speakers and do either 1 or 2 10s or maybe just a single 12 with of course an amp. I have many questions, first off what makes a good hu? I see 50x4 and 52x4. I know this means peak power to channels, but what are the channels? I also see that the 52x4 has 17rms vs. th 50x4 with only 4rms. whats rms? Would this make a huge difference? What are some good speakers and a good hu? I see alot of the sony and pioneers on best buy. Idk about speakers? Should I run an amp with the speakers as well as the subs? Most likely I will run an amp(if I need to) with the speakers and make sure it has enough power to add the subs later on. What is a good wattage amp? I know this is very long, and thanks alot to anyone who can help!

FYI-Im not trying to win any audio competitions here, but I hate the stock system and want a good sounding, loud, thumping(lol), and good sound reproduction system. I am also not looking to spend an arm and a leg, so what would be an estimate on the cost?

Thanks again!

Old 04-09-2010, 11:00 PM

anyone want to answer any ?s

Old 04-09-2010, 11:10 PM
Originally Posted by jpf150