F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

Time for a new truck

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2012, 02:31 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Time for a new truck

So I've been looking it over for the past few days and I think I may be trading up to a new F250. I'm planning on buying a large enclosed trailer next year some time and using it as a toy hauler/camper since I can't afford and don't want an actual Toy Hauler RV trailer. Plus I can use it as a portable garage for my growing pile of toys since I'm running out of room at home for them.

I would get a XL with most of the options. Even with all the options after trading in my F-150 and what I have in savings the F-250 would cost about the same month to month. The insurance would be a little bit higher but I expect that.

The truck would spend most of it's time sitting. I'm an OTR truck driver so I park my truck for 2-4 weeks at a time. I've put maybe 4000 miles on my F-150 so far this year and 1400 of it was for a trip to Tennessee. Towed a little 500lb utility trailer with my dad's two Harleys on it and my little Ninja in the bed. Total weight of the load was maybe 2500-3000 lbs with gear and us. While the truck did fine on the interstate once up to speed it was kind of sluggish on take offs and any time you wanted to pass somebody. I don't think it would be able to handle a 16-20ft long 7-8ft wide Enclosed trailer very well. Especially on longer hauls since that's what it would be used for. The 4.6 and 3.55 gears are slow on take off even when I'm just cruising around town at times. I know the big mud tires don't help any.

So far I'm looking at probably ordering a 2012 F-250 XL SCAB LB 4x4 with the 6.2L and 3.73 locker. Would have all the power options and the value package for Cruise Control. Don't have a need for neither can I afford to get a diesel. For a truck that would get less than 10k miles a year and probably only tow for a quarter of that it just isn't worth the extra cost.