F-250 / Super Duty / Diesel

F-250 or F-350

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2001, 11:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question F-250 or F-350

Hello all, this is my first time here since I just saw the site itself tonight.

I currently have a Dodge Ram 4x2 that I am leasing. Once that lease is up (within 4 months) I plan on getting a Ford. I am a web developer and don't need it for work. I work from home so mileage isn't an issue. I won't ever tow anything over about a 25' sailboat and last but not least, I want something BIG. Comparing Dodge and Fords, Fords sit much higher over a comparable Dodge. I was at the Ford dealer tonight looking at the 250s/350s and was like WOW!. These things are enormous. I am 6'6" and they still intimidate me. This truck would be MY main/enjoyment vehicle, my wife on the other hand, she just fell in love with the Sport Tracs.

I noticed that the 350s had more wheel/fender clearance, which would allow larger tires. The 250s did seem to have larger tires though. I am looking for the biggest stock truck and it appears the Fords would be it. Is there any recommendation over the 250/350?

The one I liked best was a 01 350 Supercab. It had a Triton V10, Towing mirrors, 4x4, maroon, gray interior, sliding rear window, auto, bedliner etc.. and the price on this was only $33,125.00 It seems real reasonable considering what you are getting. I am sure I could get them to knock some off the price as well. What I am getting at is that there really doesn't seem to be a big difference between the 250 and 350 prices.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

[This message has been edited by BigOne (edited 04-15-2001).]

Old 04-16-2001, 12:33 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
WELCOME to the site!!

There isn't much price difference (~$700) between a 250 & 350. The 350 will sit slightly higher (thicker springs) and has 4" lift blocks in the rear vs the 250's 2" blocks. Tires on both trucks will be the same size.