Which intake/muffler?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 11:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which intake/muffler?

I'm new to the 5.4 motor in my new 2001, never really bothered with mods on my old 5.8 since the truck was kinda a POS. So I really don't know much about the brands or pros/cons of intakes and exhaust. I plan on putting some mild mods on this, I'll start with an intake and exhaust and see where I go from there.

So for intake, seems like everyone here is split between K&N, Airaid, and S&B. For the complete kit, S&B seems to be the cheapest. I'm looking for a nice sound when you roll on the gas and maybe a slight MPG boost. I've heard that the re-useable cotton filters don't trap as much dirt and can cause problems with the MAF sensor. Is that a thing of the past or still an issue? I don't mind cleaning the filter every so often but I don't want to chance hurting the motor with below-stock filtration levels. The K&N seems a bit pricey and I've seen reports that quality of the filters has gone down recently?

I don't have the money to put a whole cat-back exhaust system on, so for now I guess a muffler will have to do. Again, lots of mixed bag reports on the different brands. A nice sound boost to give it a bit of "rumble" but nothing obnoxious since I do have to drive this truck long distances and frankly don't want to listen to my own noise. Any suggestions on a muffler?

Old 02-03-2009, 12:09 AM
Originally Posted by RaWarrior
I'm new to the 5.4 motor in my new 2001, never really bothered with mods on my old 5.8 since the truck was kinda a POS. So I really don't know much about the brands or pros/cons of intakes and exhaust. I plan on putting some mild mods on this, I'll start with an intake and exhaust and see where I go from there.