2001 F150 transciever.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2012, 05:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 F150 transciever.

Hello all,

I believe my transciever in the Passive Anti Theft System is bad in my truck.

It will turn over with ease but at times will not start at all. Then thirty minutes later it will start immediately.

I have several questions and would appreciate any advice because I simply cannot pay somone $400.00 to replace it.

1. Does this require any programming or is it plug and play?

2. Can anyone point me to a good work description for changing the transciever?

3. What if any special tools will I need to do this as I have alot of tools as I am an industrial mechanic and was wondering if I will need any special tools?

4. What should I expect to pay for the part, and where can i get it from?

Any other advice on changing this would be appreciated. I am about to head to work so I may not be able to say thank you immediately, but please understand I really appreciate any help I can get.

Jerry Sanchez

Old 12-04-2012, 09:52 AM
Global Moderator &

Received 51 Likes on 48 Posts
Jerry, I moved your post to the Electrical forum. You should get better answers here.

- Jack

Old 12-04-2012, 02:19 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Start with, what diagnoses did you do to get to the point the PATS transceiver is bad ?

The reason I ask, is there a few other things that could be causing a crank no start ( if that is what you are getting ).

1. Another RFID tag too close to the keys
This includes store fobs or items like the mobil speed pass.

2. When you have the issue, did you hear the fuel pump run ?
I ask, my 2001 had a few "hard starts" that were caused by a fuel pump relay on the way out. Few diagnoses steps got me to changing out the fuel pump relay with the correctly functioning Trailer Tow adapter relay ( 1 member did swap them, only to find out his trailer tow relay was also bad when he swapped in a 3rd one ).