backup light wiring help

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
backup light wiring help

ok, i picked up some small fog lights at walmart that were about $15. I plan on installing them as backup lights. However, i just need help with the wiring. I just want it so if i flip the switch on, the lights come on. I dont need it so they come on automatically when i put the truck in reverse. Plus i would rather keep it as simple as possible. How should i wire them though? They need a 15 amp fuse as that is what they come with.

i am a noob when it comes to the electrical wiring in automobiles so any help will be appreciated.

if you want to contact me on aim or msn go ahead. It might be easier to explain it that way

Old 01-01-2007, 03:54 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 134 Likes on 112 Posts
Find a hot source in the cab, put a switch/fuse on it, and run it to the back of the truck. Ground the lights somewhere in the rear, even on the frame. And your good to go.

Im having trouble deciding how im going to mount mine. Also maybe get an LED to remind you when you have the lights on.

And im at my parents house, but i can talk to you about it via aim later this week if you'd like
-Patrick

Old 01-01-2007, 04:27 PM
ok thanks, just post whenever you get back and cause i would like to talk to you more about it.

Old 01-01-2007, 06:30 PM
Received 37 Likes on 36 Posts
Run a fused power lead from the battery to the rear area to feed the new lights.
At the fuse area ,put a relay with one side of it's winding to battery out of the fuse.
Run one wire from the relay winding thru the fire wall to a switch.
Ground the other side of the switch. Operating the switch completes the relay winding circuit.
This covers all areas of circuit protection and single wire ground switching without doing any taps anywhere except at the battery.