Mike you could probably answer this.....

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2001, 02:25 PM
Former Sponsor
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi WT,

OK, I guess that's one way to tell me to keep it short & sweet. I'm not very good at that, unfortunately.

There is the *potential* for improving gas mileage a little bit from reducing restriction on both the intake and the exhaust side; moreso on the intake side, as there is substantial restriction in the air intake tract (airbox & filter assembly).

Some people have seen gains of as much as 2 mpg just from installing a good airbox elimination kit. For those who stay on top of their mileage results accurately & consistently, sure, it's possible to see small improvements in mileage from airflow mods like those, again, in these vehicles, moreso on the intake side than the exhaust.

This potential for improving mileage via airflow mods is all based on reducing *restriction*, meaning, the engine doesn't have to overcome quite as much load (restriction) to pull in it's required air, or to expell the spent exhaust gases.

This *potential* is indeed real, but whether someone realizes true increases in gas mileage in everyday driving will depend primarily on how the vehicle is actually operated, and the quality of the fuel being burned. We all know the very natural tendency to drive our vehicles harder after installing power-producing parts, and that will of course negate any potential mileage gains. Once the novelty of new go-fast parts wears off, you may realize that potential, I think is about the most accurate way to state this, perhaps.