will my tires affect my speedometer

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2001, 11:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question will my tires affect my speedometer

If this is not the right place to ask this, I apoligize. I am fairly new to this web site. I recently purchased a 2001 SuperCrew 4x4 that came with Goodyear Wrangler tires and 17in wheels. I am not sure of the exact tire size but it is what comes standard on them. Prior to buying, the dealership replaced these with Goodyear Wrangler AT/S LT305/70 R16 and 16x8 wheels. They said they did this so it would not affect the speedometer. Is this correct?

[This message has been edited by skinny (edited 01-23-2001).]

Old 01-23-2001, 03:52 AM
Question

Hi...Welcome to the site... I maybe wrong but the speedometer is calibrated at the factory for the 17" tire....

If the dealership changed the tires to a 16" and did not have the speedometer re-calibrated I believe it would indeed effect the speedometer reading... Again as I said I maybe wrong....

John from NC

Old 01-23-2001, 08:05 AM
And if it affects the speedometer, then it will also affect the odometer, right? Let's see if I can remember my geometry... Smaller tires means smaller circumference which means more revolutions to cover the same distance which means higher (inaccurate) speedometer reading which means more miles on the odometer than actually travelled which means shorter warranty period (expires sooner due to miles).

I would check into it just to make sure.

Old 01-23-2001, 09:03 AM
The only thing that matters on tire size in the overall outside diamter.The trucks computer really doesn't care if its on a 16 or 17 inch wheel.And if the diameter of the aftermarket wheel/tire combo is different than the stock one , then yes your speedometer and odometer are both off.

Old 01-23-2001, 10:36 AM
Certified Goat Breeder
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts