Not all F150's have TPMS? - F150online Forums



Not all F150's have TPMS?

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central N.D.
Posts: 36
Not all F150's have TPMS?

Just curious if all new F150s are supposed to have Tire pressure sensors? I just put my aftermarket wheels and tires on my 2010 fx4 that finally came in last week, and the Tire pressure light has not come on after I swapped. I figured maybe after I drove it, but put 7.5 miles on it and light never came on.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pasadena, Maryland
Posts: 1,985
I'm not sure if all the new F-150's have TPMS's or not, however I do recall seeing where many aftermarket wheels are compatible with TPMS.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,712
All of the new F150s have TPMS; it's a federal law.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central N.D.
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgunz View Post
All of the new F150s have TPMS; it's a federal law.
That is what I thought, I still don't just don't understand why my tire pressure light hasn't come on after I swapped out my stock sheels/tires with my old aftermarket ones.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,712
Is it possible the installer simply moved the sensors to the new wheels?

The TPMS is described in your manual.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:43 PM
Patman's Avatar
Global Moderator &
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 20,132
the sensors can be moved, every vehicle sold in the states 06+ has them
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2009, 06:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: central N.D.
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by shotgunz View Post
Is it possible the installer simply moved the sensors to the new wheels?

The TPMS is described in your manual.
No, becuase I installed them myself. Took them off of my 05 and put them on my 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2009, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,712
Interesting. Either your TPMS is not working or the light is burned out. Sounds like a trip to the dealer...

Please let us know what you find out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2009, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mount Airy,MD
Posts: 6,550
If you park near where the tires are stored, when parked it will pick up the signal. If all you have made are short trips (less than 20 mins at highway speeds), it will not get a fault.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2009, 06:36 PM
Stealth's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burleson, Texas
Posts: 17,123
You need to drive it more before the TPMS light comes on.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-28-2009, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth View Post
You need to drive it more before the TPMS light comes on.
Exactly. All '07+ vehicles have some sort of TPMS.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-28-2009, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 277
The light took about 3 days to come on in my ranger. I was driving 100+ km a day too.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SAN ANTONIO , TX
Posts: 127
That is the problem i'm having i put on my 07 aftermarket wheels with sensors on my 2010 and i have the tpms malfunction light on after driving 30 minutes. i was hoping they were compatible but i guess not gonna have to get sensors changed soon....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-29-2009, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANTUKID View Post
That is the problem i'm having i put on my 07 aftermarket wheels with sensors on my 2010 and i have the tpms malfunction light on after driving 30 minutes. i was hoping they were compatible but i guess not gonna have to get sensors changed soon....
I think you're problem is that the 07-08 sensors are banded to the wheels and the 09-10 wheels are part of the valve stem assembly.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-29-2009, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,712
Tire Rack and http://revolutionsupply.com/(S(jftca...FR5inAodSCOYKA sell replacement units (probably cheaper than Ford).
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jasonfreed
Parts & Accessories For Sale (2004 - 2008)
11
11-02-2015 09:29 AM
tony.sivley
Pre-1997 Models
4
07-27-2015 04:50 AM
carid
Site Vendor Specials & Classifieds
0
07-17-2015 10:25 AM
peremcguire
Transmissions
6
07-12-2015 12:41 AM
sooner526
2009 - 2014 F-150
3
07-09-2015 10:03 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.