Pinging '98 F-150

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2001, 10:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Pinging '98 F-150

Hello, i work as a pressman for the local newspaper here in my town, and a 98 F-150 is one of our company trucks. In addition to printing the paper, i'm in charge of making sure both of our trucks are serviced regularly and kept clean. The truck is a 4X4 automatic, long bed with the 4.2 V6. The truck currently has a little over 28,000 miles on it. Our truck pings like a banshee after it warms up..it will not do it while it's cold. We run 93 octane only, and using 89 or 87 octane only makes the situation worse. It will ping in OD or in D...it doesn't matter either way. We've tried different brands of gasoline, this also does no good. The truck has been doing this since it was about 2 weeks old, and it's been to the dealer around 5 or 6 times with no fix. The only thing that will make it quit pinging, is when i dump a bottle of 104 octane boost in it after a fill-up. I know it's not the gas we're using that is causing the problem, because we've also got a 95 Chevy 1 ton box truck that runs off of 89 octane from the same gas station with no problems. The dealer has contacted ford on at least 2 occasions the truck has been there. He told me that they talked to engineering for some solutions to this problem. They supposedly reprogrammed the computer, which has done us no good. Not getting this problem corrected is bugging me, another thing...our warranty is up this coming July. We've been back to the dealer, and the service manager explains to us that there is nothing more they can do, and that Ford has a problem that they don't have a solution for. He explained that they were trying to develop a new computer for the trucks....he says it's a computer problem, and when one is developed our truck will hopefully be fixed. Have any of you guys heard this line from any of your dealers? The service manager actuall called our truck a pinging bastard.LOL I'm about