Could use some help

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2015, 05:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Could use some help

I have a F150 with the 4.6 (vin 6) and I'm having a hard time figuring out an issue. My timing chain guides and tensioners started disintegrating and the debris clogged my oil pump pickup. I got everything cleaned up and put back together with a new oil pump,chain guides, tensioner arms, tensioners gaskets, and even a new power steering pump.
Now the engine won't crank and when I try to turn it over with the balancer bolt, I can only move it maybe 10 or,at most,15 degrees before it stops. It's like there's a TDC stop installed but there's not.
I'm in the process of tearing this back down until I find the problem but if you have any suggestions about the problem I'd love to hear them.
I'm no mechanic but I'm pretty good at taking things apart and putting them back together all the while figuring out what the problem is. Unfortunately most of my experience doing that has been with much older engines.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jimmy

Old 06-13-2015, 06:29 PM
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Sounds frighteningly like valve timing is out of phase with crankshaft. Did you position the engine at TDC #1 with crank timing mark at proper position before teardown, or did you set the crankshaft sprocket timing mark in the proper position (6 o'clock) - and the cam sprockets & chain marks for R (drivers side) & L are lined up - while cam lobes were OFF both valves on #1 (compression stroke) and between exhaust closing and intake opening on #7, thus lining #7 up to fire on the next full 360 degree rotation of the crankshaft? I think the engine in this YouTube link is the same as your engine.

Good luck

Old 06-13-2015, 07:21 PM
I originally thought along those lines too except that it's happening independent of the valve train.

Old 06-14-2015, 12:56 AM