Excessive gas consumption.

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2006, 03:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Excessive gas consumption.

I know this is an F150 site, but it has been a very good resource for me, so I thought I'd post a problem that my buddy is having with his Dakota. We went out mudding yesterday and he drove through quite a bit of water. He filled up to half a tank afterward and only got 40 miles out of it. I'm way too lazy to do the math, but he said it came out to like 5 MPG. He's got a 98 with a 3.9 V6 5-speed. He said that he can smell gasoline in his exhaust so for some reason it's not completely burning. My guess would be water in the ignition system somewhere, but I'm no expert. Also, this may be far fetched, but what would happen if he accidentally filled his truck up with diesel?

Old 12-31-2006, 03:10 PM
How is it running though? Is it blowing black smoke? Missing? CEL? We need more info than just "5MPG".

Diesel fuel? Well, it wouldn't even run at all, much less have poor economy.

Old 12-31-2006, 03:29 PM
I haven't actually driven it so I couldn't tell you exactly how it is running. He told me that it is running a little rough and seems a little hesitant when accelerating. His CEL has been on forever so That's not really of any help.

Old 12-31-2006, 04:43 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i always wondered what happens if you accidentally put diesel in a gas engine? are you really screwed after that or what??

Old 12-31-2006, 04:49 PM
When I was up in superior snowmobiling, I seen a guy fill up with diesel and he started up his sled, went about 20 feet and then it was done. Just completly shut down. Then he had the 100 guys waiting in line for gas laughing at him. lol bad news bears

Old 12-31-2006, 04:56 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
lol lol that must have some been some real ball breaking!!!. so i guess after that you looking for a new engine huh??

Old 12-31-2006, 05:14 PM